Community Development Committee

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Community Development Committee - August 15, 2017 Minutes

Regular Meeting: Tuesday, August 15, 2017

The Regular Meeting of the Community Development Committee of the City of Fargo, North Dakota, was held in the City Commission Room at City Hall at 3:00 p.m., Tuesday, August 15, 2017.

The Community Development Committee Members present were as follows:

Present: Commissioner John Strand (Chair), Mayor Tim Mahoney, Linda Klebe, Michael Redlinger, Shara Fischer, Lynn Fundingsland, Samantha McDonald, Thomas Hill, Sami Eidenschink

Item 1. Welcome
Chairperson Strand welcomed Members to the meeting and introductions were made.

Item 2. Approval of Minutes: Regular Meeting of July 18, 2017
Mr. Fundingsland moved the minutes of the July 18, 2017 Community Development Committee meeting be approved. Second by Mr. Hill. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 3. Update from the Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority
Lynn Fundingsland, Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority (FHRA), presented a summary and overview of the public housing projects that are in need of rehabilitation which include the Lashkowitz High Rise, New Horizons Manor, and Pioneer Manor. He outlined the proposed plans to upgrade the buildings and the financial costs of the projects. Discussion was held on Fargo’s current needs for public housing and the estimated needs in the upcoming years.

Item 4. Update on the Affordability Analysis
Community Development Administrator Dan Mahli gave a brief summary of the pilot Community Development Policy Fellowship held this summer.

Assistant Planner Tyrone Grandstrand presented a background of the affordability study and the goals of the Fellowship. Catlyn Christie, Katie Black, and Mary-Bianca Fuller, Community Development Policy Fellows, presented their research, findings, and recommendations on affordability to the Community Development Committee. Discussion was held on the three presented recommendations of the affordability study, which are to: 1) Establish a Community Land Trust (CLT); 2) Amend the Tax Increment Financing (TIF) policy to require affordability; and 3) Increase assistance for home energy retrofits.

Mayor Mahoney present.

Discussion continued on the implementation of these recommendations and the expectations of the City of Fargo.

Item 5. Review 2018 Community Development grant calendar, application, and goals
Mr. Mahli reviewed with the Board a summary of the Community Development Committee’s goals and the 2018 Community Development calendar including the timeline of the grant application cycle as reviewed by the Community Development Committee’s workgroup. He added staff would like to proceed with the Community Development grant calendar, application, funding considerations, and goals for 2018.

Ms. Klebe moved to approve the application process as presented. Second by Ms. Fischer. On call of the roll Members McDonald, Eidenschink, Hill, Mahoney, Fischer, Fundingsland, Redlinger, Klebe, and Strand voted aye. The motion was declared carried.

Item 6. Other Business
Mr. Stand proposed exploring the availability of board members to change the meeting time to 2:30 p.m. instead of 3:00 p.m.

Mr. Grandstrand expressed thanks to Dr. Matthew Lindholm, Associate Professor at Concordia College, and his help with the Fellowship program.

Discussion was held on issues related to financing condominiums in relation to affordable housing.

Item 7. Adjourn
The time at adjournment was 4:00 p.m.