Historic Preservation Commission

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Historic Preservation Commission - January 16, 2018 Minutes

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Historic Preservation Commissioners of the City of Fargo, North Dakota, was held in the City Commission Room at City Hall at 8:00 o’clock a.m., Tuesday, January 16, 2018.

The Historic Preservation Commissioners present or absent were as follows:

Present: Michael Burns, Heather Fischer, Matthew Boreen, Paul Gleye, Mike Dawson, Nathan Larson

Absent: Christine Kloubec

Chair Burns called the meeting to order and welcomed Members to the meeting.

Item 1: Minutes: Regular Meeting of August 15, 2017
Mr. Gleye moved the minutes of the August 15, 2017 Historic Preservation Commission meeting be approved. Second by Mr. Dawson. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 2: Storefront Grant Review – Adrian’s Autocare, 102 University Drive North: APPROVED
Assistant Planner Dawn Mayo introduced the proposed project façade renovation at 102 University Drive North. She briefly summarized the application referring to the rendering included in the packet, and explained recent updates made to the proposal since the packet was mailed to the Board.

Applicant Adrian Greiff spoke on behalf of the project.

Discussion ensued regarding the following items: the removal of existing siding to expose the original brick; the type of siding to be used to replace areas that are deteriorating; staffs determination of why this building is not considered historical; the need for building renovation to meet building code guidelines; and to provide more natural lighting to the customer service area by adding additional windows.

Mr. Gleye moved the Historic Preservation Commission find that no historic property is being affected, and to approve the project as presented with the recommendation to expose as much of the original brick as possible, and that additional windows be added in the customer service area to provide more natural lighting. Second by Mr. Boreen. All Members present voted aye and the motion was declared carried.

Item 3: Other Business
Ms. Mayo announced the annual Certified Local Government (CLG) meeting is scheduled to be held in Fargo on April 20, 2018. She stated staff will keep Board updated on the meeting location, time, and other details as they become available.

Chair Burns acknowledged Dawn Mayo’s upcoming retirement, and welcomed Assistant Planner Kylie Bagley who will be her replacement on this Board.

Ms. Mayo continued with the following updates:

• Jefferson Neighborhood Historic Overlay District: Ms. Mayo stated staff received the house surveys conducted by neighborhood volunteers. She suggested the subcommittee, comprised of Members Kloubec, Fischer, and Dawson, schedule a meeting to begin reviewing this information with the neighborhood. Ms. Mayo said staff would coordinate with the Board to set a meeting time and location. Nathan Larson volunteered to serve on this subcommittee.

• Roosevelt/Carnegie Library Cornerstone Project: Ms. Mayo reported once she receives approval from the Park District regarding placement of the cornerstone, a Request for Proposals (RFP) will be issued for the project.

Item 4: Liaison Reports
Ms. Mayo reminded Board Members that the Historic Preservation Commission currently does not have a liaison to the Renaissance Zone Authority, and will need to appoint a new liaison.

Item 5: Next Meeting – February 20, 2018
The time at adjournment was 8:45 a.m.