Native American Commission

Boards, Commissions & Committees

Native American Commission - March 18, 2018 Minutes

Special Meeting:Thursday, March 18, 2018

A regular meeting of the Board of Native American Commissioners of the City of Fargo, North March 18, 2018.

The Native American Commissioners present or absent were as follows:

Present: John Strand, Ruth Buffalo Sharon White Bear, Lenore King, Francis Oakgrove, Guy Fox, and Maylynn Warne

Absent: Rebecca Knutson, Clinton Alexander

Also Present: Kara Gloe, Nicole Crutchfield (City of Fargo), Vince Kempf (Fargo Police Department)

Item 1. Welcome and Introductions
Mr. Fox welcomed Members to the meeting and introductions were made.

Item 2. Approval of Agenda and Minutes
Ms. Warne moved to approve the agenda. Mr. Strand seconded. All members affirmed aye and the motion passed.

Ms. Crutchfield pointed out a date error at the very top of the page. Ms. Warne moved to approve as amended. Ms. King seconded. All members affirmed aye and the motion passed.

Item 3. Mr. Fox resolved to move into the Committee of the Whole

Consensus Item: Events - Ms. Buffalo will compile a list of events/dates and Native American Commission members will send her all events/dates they are working on. Mr. Fox and Ms. Warne will work on Indigenous Peoples Day and Crossroads Powwow. Ms. King will work on the Fargo Project powwow in Rabunus Park. City staff will contact a videographer to document events. City Staff will work with the City’s Communications Department to streamline marketing and public relations.

Consensus Item: Budget – Change the name of the Education Committee to Culture and Education Committee and move Indigenous Peoples day to that committee.

Consensus Item: Committees – Combine Human Trafficking and Mayors’ Task Force under Public Relations Committee. Chairs of each committee will report to the Executive Committee. Executive Committee will decide how to structure Executive Committee. Committees are expected to do their own recruiting and draft their own work plans.
• Public Relations Committee – Ruth Buffalo, Sharon White Bear, and John Strand
• Health & Wellness – Maylynn Warne, Clinton Alexander, and Lenore King
• Culture & Education Committee – Maylynn Warne, Ruth Buffalo, Rebecca Knutson, and Guy Fox
• Sweat Lodge Committee – Guy Fox and Francis Oakgrove

Consensus Item: Approve Sponsorship Application as presented.

Consensus Item: Create a New Member Orientation Program to include:
• After action reports for each event
• Procedural Information – What to expect from a regular meeting, What to expect from an Executive Committee meeting, etc.
• Mentor – Current member/outgoing member mentors new member
• On-Boarding Packet – Bylaws, Ordinance, etc.
• Cultural Advisor for non-native members
• Infographics

Consensus Item: Executive Committee will update the public comment policy to be read at every meeting.

Consensus Item: The Chair will talk with any member that has three unexcused absences to understand the circumstances and will consider things on a case by case basis.

Mr. Fox moved to approve consensus items as presented. Ms. King seconded. All members affirmed aye and the motion passed.