Fargo City Commission Chambers Hero

City Commission

The City of Fargo has a commission form of government. The Mayor and four Commissioners are elected at large, meaning that every citizen has an opportunity to vote for each of them. Rather than representing specific areas of the city, as is done in a council form of government, Commissioners represent the entire city. Commissioners are elected for four-year terms and are limited to three consecutive terms. Any member who has served in the capacity of Mayor, as well as City Commissioner, may serve four consecutive terms.

The liaison assignment system was adopted several years ago as a means of providing a link between individual departments and the City Commissioners. With Fargo continuing to grow and its activities becoming more complex, the assignment of specific Commissioners to individual departments provides an effective avenue for communication between elected and appointed city officials. It also helps citizens decide which Commissioner to contact when they have questions or concerns about a particular city department or function.

The Fargo City Commission meets every two weeks in the City Commission Chambers at City Hall. A schedule of upcoming meetings is listed on the agendas page. Meetings are held at 5 p.m. and are broadcast live on cable channel TV Fargo 56 and online at They are rebroadcast Mondays at 5 p.m., Thursdays at 7 p.m. and Saturdays at 8 a.m.

City Commission minutes will be posted on this site as soon as they are completed. Normally, that will be no later than two weeks after the meeting.